Recognition Program

ASBA’s Boardsmanship Awards Program honors individual members for their continuing education. It also recognizes entire boards whose members have all attained specified development levels.

Only ASBA and National School Boards Association (NSBA) training will be recognized for the boardsmanship awards. Training received at The Southern Region Leadership Conference will also be accepted.

The deadline for submitting hours to receive boardsmanship awards is four weeks prior to the ASBA Annual Conference.

Awards are achieved through two distinct, but related, programs.

Individual awards program

Members complete progressive levels of training to enhance boardsmanship skills. Members earn hours through board development activities. The recognition levels of authorized activities are:

  • Outstanding Board Member – at least 25 hours
  • Master Board Member – at least 50 hours
  • Pinnacle Award – at least 200 hours
  • Platinum Award – at least 400 hours
  • President’s Award – 500 hours or more
  • ASBA School Board Service Award – 30 or more years of school board service

Recognition includes lapel pins, certificates or plaques, depending on level of achievement. ASBA announces Master Board Member and Pinnacle Award recipients through news releases to local media. These individual awards tie into the next aspect of the recognition program.

Board awards program

This program recognizes achievement in education excellence and ethical service to students. Boards accomplish this through a shared vision, team effort and unified commitment to ensure the best possible climate and education opportunities in their communities. These two levels of awards go to entire school boards, rather than individual members.

  • Outstanding Board – earned when all members have achieved the individual Outstanding Board Member award
  • Master Board – earned when all members have achieved the individual Master Board Member award

The Master Board receives a commemorative plaque. After winning this award, the school district’s board is not eligible for at least five years. ASBA tracks board members’ participation in ASBA and NSBA events, and The Southern Region Leadership Conference. ASBA also records the hours earned and notifies board members when they achieve any of these six recognition levels. Each school district must notify the Arkansas Department of Education at the end of each calendar year regarding each school board member’s earned training credit toward the state-mandated requirement. ASBA’s online eMembership system assists districts in keeping records, but the district is responsible for maintaining official board training records.

Dr. Daniel L. Pilkinton Award for Outstanding Service to Public Education

This honor is awarded to outstanding individuals who have made substantive contributions to public education. This award is presented at the Annual Conference in December.

ASBA Educational Foundation Scholarship Program

ASBA awards scholarships to graduating high school seniors who are children of Arkansas school board members and who will attend Arkansas institutions of higher learning in the fall. The awards are based on a student’s academic record and leadership potential. One award is made in each of the four congressional districts. The J.K. Williams Memorial Scholarship, established in memory of former ASBA Executive Director J.K. Williams, is awarded to a student pursuing an advanced degree in the educational field.